CR7 (Cristiano Ronaldo) Wins The Golden Foot Award 2020
< Back to Blog CR7 (Cristiano Ronaldo) Wins The Golden Foot Award 2020
CR7 (Cristiano Ronaldo) Wins The Golden Foot Award 2020
Date : September 30,2021
Author : Jake Woodward Categories :

CR7 Wins The Golden Foot Award 2020

The Golden Foot is a prestigious individual award given to active soccer players 28 years of age or older who have built successful careers. Antonio Caliendo created this recognition in 2003. Moreover, Prince Albert II of Monaco sponsors it. This award recognizes the greatest players' achievements in world soccer. Its organizers describe it as "an international award dedicated to the best footballers in history." An international committee of journalists chooses the nominees. Online fan votes determine the winner via the Golden Foot website, Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter. This is the only reward where football fans can choose the winner. This award honors players in a mature stage for all they have achieved in their golden years of football. Each player can only receive the Golden Foot once. The best footballers in the world are present at the Champions Promenade in Monte Carlo to receive this tribute. This boardwalk has the footprints and autographs of the world's most famous soccer players carved in bronze. These extraordinary players have made fans dream of their incredible feats. Great figures such as Roberto Baggio, Pavel Nedved, Ronaldo Nazario, and Zlatan Ibrahimovic are among the Golden Foot winners. In addition to the most prominent players, the media nominate "football legends of all time" to receive the Golden Foot every year. Both the winner of this award and the recognized legends receive the emblematic "Passport to the Eternity of Soccer."

The Honors Go To CR7

The Portuguese forward Cristiano Ronaldo of Juventus was chosen as the winner of this tribute. The Juventus forward beat players of Lionel Messi, Robert Lewandowski, and Neymar, to name a few. The vote ended on November 20, 2020. The one from Madeira has had a great year and outnumbered nine other candidates. Cristiano Ronaldo takes over from Croatian Luka Modric, and at almost 36 years old, he is still in an enviable state of form. The Portuguese forward had an excellent 2020 year in individual terms. He averaged one goal per game for Juventus in Italian Serie A. Likewise, Cristiano Ronaldo is the only footballer in history who has been the champion and best player in the Premier League, the Spanish League, and the Italian Serie A. Besides, the Portuguese is the leader of the Portuguese national team. He led this squad to become European and UEFA Nations League champions. The other finalists were Leo Messi, Robert Lewandowski, Giorgio Chiellini, Neymar Jr, Sergio Aguero, Mohamed Salah, and Arturo Vidal.

CR7 has been eligible for this award since 2013 and is, along with Leo Messi, one of the best footballers of recent times. However, Cristiano Ronaldo had not yet been recognized. Now, in this way, Cristiano Ronaldo adds one more award to his large showcase of achievements. Despite his seniority and even suffering from coronavirus, CR7 did not slow down compared to other campaigns. On the contrary, he continues seeking to increase his level and stay in the football elite for many more years. We know his quality and that he fully deserves this tribute.

Tags :